Controlling Who Has Permission to View a Page

By default, most information entered into the Church website is either automatically made available to the general public (i.e. those without a login) or automatically made private. For example, your user information is automatically restricted while Pages and Events that you add are automatically made public.

However, you can very simply restrict access to any page that you have created if you want to. The instructions are below. People designated as Administrators and Editors can use these instructions to control access to any user created page on the system.

  1. Login to the system. The system has to know who you are for it to know what pages you created.
  2. Go the Page, Event, or other material whose access you want to control. After you have Created and Saved an Page or other material, you are already in the right place.
  3. If you created the page or have permission to edit it, you will see some commands on the top of the page, to the right of the Page Title. One of these commands is "Grant". (If no "Grant" appears, then the 'content type' hasn't been setup to allow it to be changed. As of this writing, Blog Entries, Pages, Events, and Lectures can be controlled, but Services and Sermons cannot. Administrators can change under User Management>Nodeaccess. )
  4. Click on the grant "Grant" command to the right of the page title. This will take you to the Grant Permissions section for that page.
  5. The screen shows as many as four columns (depending on your personal level of access to that page) titled Roles, View, Edit, and Delete.  Below are rows for each type of user Role on the system. Next to each Role are the permission Check Boxes.
    • "Roles" are the various permission levels on the system.
    • "Views" checkboxes determine the ability to View the content.
    • "Edit" checkboxes determine the ability to Edit the content.
    • "Delete" checkboxes determine the ability to Delete the content.
  6. By default on most information, under View, "anonymous user" and "authenticated user" user are Checked, which means the general publlic (anonymous users) and logged in users (authenticated user) can view the information.  Everyone who logs in is an authenticated user, so checks don't need to appear next to any other roles, since all those roles are also "authenticated users".
    • A Checked Box means that a given type of Role has permission for that function.
    • An Empty Box (unchecked) means that a Role does NOT have permission for that function.
  7. To prevent the general public from seeing the information on the page, click on the Checked Box under View next to "anonymous user".  This will uncheck that box, making it empty.
  8. To restrict View access to only Editors or Admininistrators, uncheck the "authenticated user" box under View. This means that even users who have logins to the site cannot see the information unless they are in these higher roles.  By default, Editors and Administrators have general access to user entered information.
  9. To restrict View to specific people, follow steps 7 and 8 (to prevent other access) then do the following:
    1. Type a User ID in the "Enter names for seach users" box. As you start typing their name, the system will bring up a list of matching names. Click on that name.
    2. After name is entered, Click the "Search" button. This will create a line for that specific user.
    3. Check the "Keep" box and the "View" box. This means that this specific users Keeps their View access even if their general group does not have access.
  10. Click the "Save Grants" button at the bottom of the Screen to save the changed permissions.

Access Denied Page: This is the page that users who do not have access to a page are directed to if they try to access that page. If you know you have permission to access a given page and get this page, it is because you are not currently logged in. A few pages, such as the User Registration Page, will also give this message if you are logged in because they are restricted to anonymous users.

Menu Items: When a user doesn't have permission to see a page, they also do not have permission to see any menu item coming from the Menu Setting of that page. That is why user to not see Instruction page menu items until they log in. 

Links and Bookmarks: If someone has a link or a bookmark to a restricted page, it will only work if they have permission to access that page. Users without permission will be directed to a "Access Denied" page.